WACMOS-ET members

The team is composed of 9 groups in Europe, as well as an expert from Australia (since contribution from outside Europe is possible in this call). Our team includes:

  • very active members of the GEWEX LandFlux initiative, who already worked in the development or inter-comparison of ET algorithms (Carlos Jimenez, Paris Observatory [OBSPM], France; Sonia Seneviratne, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology [ETH] Zurich, Switzerland; Matthew MacCabe, University of New South Wales [UNSW], Australia).
  • expertise on in situ measurement for ET evaluation through the Max Plank Institute for Biogeochemistry [MPI-BGC], Germany (Markus Reichstein and Martin Jung).
  • developers of global ET algorithms, such as Diego Miralles, currently affiliated with the University of Bristol [UoB], that will contribute to the ET algorithm selection and processing.
  • leading groups in Europe in the field of land surface temperature (Isabel Trigo and Pedro Viterbo, Instituto of Meteorologia [IM], Portugal, and Fred Prata and Philipp Scheinder, Norwegian Institute for Air Research [NILU], Norway).
  • experts in surface albedo and vegetation products, (Jan-Peter Muller and Mathias Disney, University College London [UCL], UK, and Thomas Kaminski, FastOpt, Germany).

The team is led by Estellus, a young start-up tight to Paris Observatory and Universities, specialized in the development of satellite algorithms for Earth observation (Catherine Prigent and Filipe Aires).

WACMOS-ET contributors

Other research groups are also contributing to the project. They include:

  • the Water & Carbon Cycles Group, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL);
  • the Numerical Terradynamic Simulation Group (NTSG), College of Forestry & Conservation, The University of Montana;
  • the Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation, ITC, University of Twente;
  • the Terrestrial Hydrology Research Group, Princeton University.